Mac Miller Announces New Album Swimming

Mac Miller Announces New Album Swimming & Releases “Self Care”

Mac Miller recently announced that he will be dropping his new album Swimming next month, and we couldn’t be more excited about it!

After Mac mysteriously wiped his Instagram account clean, he surprised fans with three new singles (“Small Worlds,” “Programs,” and “Buttons”). Shortly after, he spontaneously dropped a fourth single titled “Self Care,” in addition to the announcement of his album release.

Warner Bros







In order to fully understand the meaning of “Self Care,” it is vital that you watch the music video directed by Christian Weber. The entire 5 minutes and 45 seconds of this melancholy song reflects on Mac’s recent image constructed by the media. After his highly publicized breakup with Ariana Grande and serious car accident, he senses that people hold an incorrect perception of him through the chaotic media.

In the music video for “Self Care” Mac is shown trapped inside a pine box, buried alive. As he looks around with a flashlight in hand, he calmly lights a cigarette and begins smoking. Despite having no source to oxygen, Mac is unbothered by the claustrophobic space and feels confident that he will escape despite how difficult it may be. His unconventional lifestyle and outspoken problems with depression, drugs, drinking, and suicide give the public enough reason to believe that he won’t make it.

He then pulls out a pocket knife and begins to carve “memento mori” into the box, which translates from Latin to English as “remember that you have to die.” This moment is very metaphoric as it refers to Mac’s public image and personal struggles plummeting. However, Mac proves the skeptics wrong as he punches through his handwritten words and escapes the buried box. This symbolizes that he refuses to die any time soon. Mac has his head on straight. Think of this single as a bold statement that he has returned! “Self Care” is an ode to his past self and promises to maintain a healthy state of being. To see this side of Mac in his more vulnerable state is captivating, and we cannot wait to see what this new phase of his music holds! 

Mac reported on Instagram that Swimming will be released on August 3rd, 2018. To hold fans down in the meantime, Mac shared the tracklist online just a few days ago.

Swimming Track List:

  1. Come Back To Earth
  2. Hurt Feelings
  3. What’s The Use?
  4. Perfecto
  5. Self Care
  6. Wings
  7. Ladders
  8. Small Worlds
  9. Conversation Pt. 1
  10. Dunno
  11. Jet Fuel
  12. 2009
  13. So It Goes

Psssssst… Swimming is available for pre-order now!

Featured Image: Warner Bros

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: