Music & Culture

Everything We Know About This Year’s New Year’s Eve Performances

New Year’s Eve will definitely look a little different this year, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t ample amounts of performances to tune into as we leave 2020 behind! Continue reading to find out about all the amazing performances happening.

“Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve” will feature a headlining performance from Jennifer Lopez, as well as five hours of performances! This classic NYE show will still be in Times Square, but unfortunately there will not be crowds of screaming fans to accompany J-Lo’s performance which is happening just before the ball drops. In addition, Billy Porter, former star of Broadway hit Kinky Boots, will be hosting and performing a duet with Cyndi Lauper, who wrote the music for the show. Ryan Seacrest, Lucy Hale, and Ciara will also be hosting this special! You can tune into this performance on ABC at 8 ET.

If the Dick Clark special is not your choice for this year’s New Year’s Eve content, do not worry! YouTube is also hosting their own NYE celebration, catering to different countries with a variety of celebrities and performers. “Hello 2021: Americas” (which will premiere on YouTube, 10:30 p.m. ET) will have Juanpa Zurita and Storm Reid host, as they introduce performers such as Dua Lipa, J Balvin, YG, Karol G and Kane Brown to count down to the New Year. Matthew McConaughey, Demi Lovato, RuPaul, Emma Chamberlain, the D’Amelio Family and other YouTube stars will also be special guests during the stream. It will be available on the YouTube Originals channel.

Lastly, NBC’s New Year’s Eve show will feature Carson Daly, Amber Ruffin, and Steven “tWitch” Boss as hosts, with performances from Jason Derulo, Chloe x Halle, Kylie Minogue, Blake Shelton, Gwen Stefani, Sting, Busta Rhymes, Anderson .Paak, Bebe Rexha, Doja Cat, Pentatonix, and others. The broadcast will air live From Times Square from 10-11 p.m. and 11:30 p.m.-12:30 a.m. (ET/PT).

From all of us at Soundigest, we wish you a very happy new year!

Featured Image: Instagram (@dcp)